Harold & Esther Edgerton Junior Faculty Award

Award: $5000 ($3000 professional development fund and $2000 salary supplement, distributed over two years)

Eligibility: Full-time pre-tenure faculty, 2027 tenure notification date

The Harold & Esther Edgerton Junior Faculty Award is presented each year to honor an outstanding junior faculty member who has demonstrated creative research, extraordinary teaching abilities, and academic promise. Awardees are recognized at The Laurels annual award reception.

Awards home

Nomination Instructions

Before submitting the nomination form, compile the documents listed below in the order shown and save as one PDF file.

  • Nomination letter from the nominee's chair: Please address the faculty member's academic promise, citing examples of the nominee's accomplishments in research/creative activity and in teaching. This letter should include a summary of the candidate's annual evaluations and student course evaluations. It is especially helpful to include how the faculty member's research or creative activity has contributed to superior classroom instruction for undergraduate and graduate students (maximum 3 pages).
  • An endorsement from the nominee's college dean, in support of the individual's nomination.
  • Abbreviated curriculum vitae: Please include a listing of all courses taught in the last three years and highlight published works which took place while at the university. For multi-author materials, please specify your contributions (maximum 5 pages).
  • Statement of the candidate's research/creative activity contributions and teaching philosophy and goals (maximum 3 pages).

Nomination Form

Harold Edgerton
Harold Edgerton, 1959

About the Award

The Harold and Esther Edgerton Junior Faculty Award was established to commemorate the legacies of Harold and Esther Edgerton.

Harold Edgerton, a Nebraska native, received his bachelor’s degree in electrical engineering from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln in 1925. He then became a professor of electrical engineering at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology where he was credited with advancing research and development in sonar and deep-sea photography.

Esther Edgerton, also a Nebraska native, received her bachelor’s degree in mathematics, music, and education from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. A skilled pianist and singer, she attended the New England Conservatory of Music and would go on to teach in public schools in Nebraska and Boston.

Harold and Esther Edgerton
Harold and Esther Edgerton

Past Awardees

Year Recipient Department
2024 Katherine Frels Agronomy and Horticulture
2023 Eloísa Grifo Mathematics
2023 Robert Twomey Theatre and Film
2022 Anthony Justin McMechan Entomology
2021 Marc Garcia Sociology and Ethnic Studies
2020 Kathryn Holland Psychology
2020 Christine Wittich Civil and Environmental Engineering
2019 Shudipto Dishari Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
2019 Hope Wabuke English
2018 Alexandra Seceleanu Mathematics
2017 Maital Neta Psychology
2016 Joe Louis Entomology
Yvonne Lai Mathematics
2015 Katrina Jagodinsky History
Amanda Ramer-Trait Food Science and Technology
2014 Alexander Sinitskii Chemistry
2013 Daniel Toundykov Mathematics
2012 John B Gates Earth and Atmospheric Sciences
2011 Wei Qiao Electrical Engineering
2010 Christine Kelley Mathematics
2010 Sabrina Russo School of Biological Sciences
2009 Marie S. Mitchell Management
2008 Eileen Hebets School of Biological Sciences
2007 Aaron Holz Art & Art History
2006 Amit Saini Marketing
2005 Victoria A O Smith History & Ethnic Studies
2004 Leen-Kiat Soh Computer Science & Engineering
2003 Walter Rucker History & Ethnic Studies
2002 Sebastian G Elbaum Computer Science & Engineering
2001 Chris Gallagher English
2001 Stephen Scott Computer Science & Engineering