Susan J. Rosowski Professorship


Stipend: $3,000

Discipline: Open

Eligibility: Associate Professor

Professorships home

The Susan J. Rosowski Professorship recognizes faculty at the associate professor level for their contributions in research and teaching, who show exceptional promise for future excellence, and who have achieved distinguished records of scholarship or creative activity. The five-year, one-time appointment professorship carries a $3,000 annual stipend.

Susan J. Rosowski
Susan J. Rosowski

The Rosowski Professorship is named in honor of the late Susan J. Rosowski (1942-2004), who at the time of her death was the Adele Hall Distinguished Professor of English at UNL. She established the (Willa) Cather Project, and was general editor for the scholarly edition of Cather's works published by the University of Nebraska Press, a multi-volume project. Rosowski is credited with igniting renewed regional, national and international interest in Willa Cather's works. Rosowski was an award-winning author and well-respected teacher and scholar. A Kansas native, Rosowski received her B.A. from Whittier College and her M.A. and Ph.D. from the University of Arizona. In 2004, she received the University of Nebraska's Outstanding Research and Creative Activity Award.

Past Recipients

Year Recipient Department
2017 Sarah Gervais Psychology
2017 Martin Centurion Physics and Astronomy
2017 Timothy Schaffert English
2016 Mehmet Can Vuran Computer Science & Engineering
2016 Kathleen Rudasill Educational Psychology
2015 Jinsong Huang Mechanical & Materials Engineering
2015 Matthew Jockers English
2015 Ming Li Psychology
2015 Roland Vegso English
2015 Jun Wang Earth & Atmospheric Sciences
2014 Rebecca Lai Chemistry
2013 Joy Castro English
2013 Myra Cohen Computer Science & Engineering
2013 Stephen Ramsay English
2013 Jay Storz School of Biological Sciences
2012 Jaekwon Lee Biochemistry
2011 Tracy Frank Earth & Atmospheric Sciences
2011 Melanie Simpson Biochemistry
2010 John Gibbons Philosophy
2010 Melissa Homestead English
2010 Vinodchandran Variyam Computer Science & Engineering